blueollie

Aging and athletic fear

Workout notes:

yesterday: 6.2 mile (10k) untimed run in Bradley Park. I had been unable to do that comfortably on Monday and wondered if I had lost the ability. No problem.
Evening: exercise class with Ms. Vickie. I was the only male. Still, it worked my abs and legs; it is kind of fun to suffer next to Jennifer…for a variety of reasons. 🙂

Today: it went ok, but I could never get steady in headstand; I was too afraid of falling over. I can’t tell whether it is “after workout fatigue”, bad abs, back or what? But every time I fail, I worry that I am losing my ability to do it.

But weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10; good), bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 190, 8 x 175, incline press: 9 x 150, military press (barbell) 6, 6, 5 x 95, then 7 x 50 dumbbell, rows: 2 sets of 10 x 65 single arm, 10 x 130 machine.

2 mile run: 19:20; last mile in 8:52 (4:32/4:20). I doubt that I could sustain that for a 5K right now (final mile).

And so it goes: when I can’t do something that I normally can do, it is hard for me to decide whether I am losing an ability or just having a bad day.

January 26, 2017 - Posted by | running, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

