blueollie

Glowing shoulders

Yes, my shoulders have that glow. I slept in and decided to do a weight workout followed by a recovery walk on the treadmill; I don’t know what conditions will be like tomorrow morning (icy roads?)

I did weigh at 197 afterward (no shoes, no shorts) and was 201.5 with shoes and shorts beforehand (thank you chili).

The workout: 3 sets of 10 pull ups (wanted to use the bench), rotator cuff
incline press: 10 x 135, 6 x 160, 10 x 150 (the younger guy getting 6 x 315 on the regular bench didn’t hurt my feelings at all)
2 sets of 10 pull ups
military: 2 sets of 10 x 50 standing, 2 sets of 10 x 180 machine
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 54 (each arm) machine
legs: sets of 6 goblet: 25, 30, 40, 50, 50, 6 x 45 Smith Machine, 7 x 180 free weight leg press. Heavier on the Smith machine hurt my knees.

Treadmill: Froggy, 3.9 and up every 3 minutes to 4.8, then 1,2,3,4 to 42 minutes; 41:48 5K; 40:30 at mile 3.

Abs: 2 sets of 10: yoga leg lifts, 12 twist crunches, exercise ball back stretch
Headstand (easier..harder surface)

I felt good.

I went at a time when more people were starting to show up. My goodness, one exercise class was jam packed. There was a real mix; male powerhouses, bespandexed women, old people, casual people, etc., along with a few people I knew.

I complemented the powerhouse who got 6 x 315 and he said “you can do it”. I laughed and told him that 30 years ago, I got ONE rep with 310 and it about killed me. You should have seen his eyes widen when I said “30 years ago”; he probably had not been born then.

January 14, 2017 - Posted by | walking, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

