blueollie

Introspection ….

I often engage in introspection; to me there is no other way to get better. I do this with myself and I do this both socially and politically.

But my goodness…to this politically and, unless I am careful about permissions, I get attacked by people who do not know me. I get reminded of the Dunning-Kruger effect which basically says that we are unaware of our blind spots. This makes perfect sense to me; after all I know mathematics more than I know anything else, and I am painfully aware of the gulf between me and the top people in my field. And that is in what I know best!

I am doing some introspection in sports too:

bodyweight: 198.2 (prior to lifting weights and walking 24 laps in the outer lane in 15:04/14:10/13:34 (42:50).
Lifting: rotator cuff, pull ups (not bad; 5 sets of 10)
incline press: 10 x 135, 2 x 170, 6 x 150, 10 x 150 (good)
military: 10 x 50 dumbbell, 20 x 50 seated, supported, 6 x 95 barbell (down to parallel)
rows; 3 sets of 10 x 50 single arm.
abs: 2 sets each of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts
headstand (tough to get into today but did it)
legs: lots of free squats, 2 sets of 6 x 30, 2 sets of 6 x 50, leg presses: 2 sets of 10 x 210 (one after walking)

What I look like right now: too heavy to either finish a marathon under the time limit or a 5K in under 26 minutes. I’d like to be 10 pounds lighter.

me10jan20171

me10jan20172

me10jan20173

Hey, since you made it through the unpleasantness above, here is a reward

January 10, 2017 - Posted by | social/political, walking, weight training

2 Comments »

  1. Ollie, you are still HOT!!!!

    Comment by Lynn Dempsey | January 10, 2017 | Reply

    • You’ve made a friend for life. 🙂

      Comment by blueollie | January 11, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

