blueollie

I am in horrible shape! Sad!

It has been about 6 weeks since my blood donation. But it has been about that length of time since I did regular “hard” running, and the latter is a factor..as is the weight (192.8 after running..should be 188 or less).

But alas, I think that my body needed a break and so it got one. Now time to rebuild. Ugh.

Treadmill: 20 minutes easy, then 11 at 6.7, 4 minutes walk/jog..ok, mostly walk, 2:30 at 6.7, 2:30 walk, 7:30 at 6.7, walk, 1 min at 6.7, 2 min walk, 2 min at 6.7, 2 min walk, 3 min at 6.7, walk/jog to get 1:03:36 at mile 6. Total: 11+ 2.5 + 7.5 +1 + 2 + 3 = 27 minutes at 6.7, or just over 3 miles of “tempo” (or more intense than that?) running. Then 2 miles of steady walk.

I am just not in good shape right now. I can say it was my legs that felt heavy during the intervals; maybe I can do 15 minutes at this pace next week.

Personal Issue

I sometimes wonder if I feel my age more than those who don’t workout regularly. One one hand, I can do more at my age than most can; for example I remember getting applauded as I went up and down these stairs about a half-dozen times:

bearslionsbarbarasteps (we were at row 33, a few rows from the top).

It wasn’t hard for me.

On the other hand, I am acutely aware that my old 20-21 minute 5K is now 26-27 and that my old “10 reps with 200” in the bench press is now ONE rep with 200…10 with 170. 27 pull-ups in one set is now 15, and that is on a good day. Most days I do sets of 10.

So I have awareness….and with it, the attitude.

I do know this: I am improving from where I was a week or two ago, but wow..I’ve got work to do prior to the spring 5K races! The calculator says that I should be capable of 25:38 on a good day (based on 24:00 on my best day as a 49 year old) but I am not in shape for that yet. Maybe a month or two from now?

January 9, 2017 - Posted by | running, walking | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

