blueollie

I’ve given up…this has been coming for a long time

This morning, I wasn’t under work pressures so I slept in longer and reluctantly pushed myself out of the door.

I ran..shuffled really…10K plus on my hilly Cornstalk/Bradley Park course. It was a lovely fall day; sun..chilly windy, and leaves everywhere. Traffic was mostly minimal.

And I didn’t bother with my stopwatch; in fact, MOST of my runs and walks over “known” courses are like that. I might do a timed track or treadmill run; and once in a while, I’ll do a race.

But, more and more, performance during a workout has become less and less important to me, at least in most workouts. And GodDAMN, I am slow. I am more shuffling than running.

I’ve reached the point where I really don’t want to know my workout times, at least for most of them. Even in weight lifting, I’ll do more when I can, but getting a spotter so I can squeeze out “one or two last reps”…just not what I do anymore.

Who knows; maybe I am still in the “post marathon blues” period.

But I sure enjoyed today’s run/shuffle or whatever you want to call it.

November 22, 2016 - Posted by | running |

1 Comment »

  1. I’m there too, at least for now. Most of my workouts are at a “recovery” pace. In my last two races, I only looked at my watch at the halfway mark and at the finish.

    Comment by David | November 22, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

