blueollie

Post election blues

I really have not talked about this election all that much, at least compared to how much I said after the 2008 and 2012 elections. Oh yes, I am furious at our losing; as a party we really failed. The top political consultants ought never be used in a national campaign again. We failed to campaign beyond our base and were grossly overconfident (here and here)

Oh yeah, it is great that our popular vote margin is up to 1,000,000 votes and counting. The Electoral College is what counts, and we ended up underperforming any Democratic candidate since Michael Dukakis in 1988. That is inexcusable.

Oh, we still don’t get it, at least as a party. Here is a House Republican “selfie” with Mike Pence…of course it is all white. BUT THAT ONLY MATTERS TO LIBERALS. That is between “of no consequence” to “that’s the way it should be” to about half of our country.

Ok, I am digressing.

I notice that I’ve done a few things differently. My spouse tells me that I am humming to myself a lot; it is kind of like a constant “sitcom” theme tune. That is what my civic/social life appears to be right now.

And I’ve made the effort to get out more; I made impromptu football games, the regular basketball games, did a race that I wasn’t prepared for (see my workout notes) and even made a yoga/pilates type class for the first time in several years.

And I’ve talked up a storm on Facebook; lots of PM conversations too. This just sucks…though the coming together with others actually feels good in a weird sort of way.

Workout notes: 1 mile warm up on the treadmill, 8 x 400 Deek workout (lane 2): 31:08 for a bit over 5K. 9:54, 10:11, 10:00, 1:02. Roughly it was 9 minutes a mile for the “fast” (lol) part, 12 mpm for the “float” part. This was roughly 2 minutes slower than what I did during 2015. And it wasn’t as if I was not trying; I think that I’ve slowed down again.

Some of it was that my butt was somewhat sore from the exercise class with Ms. Vickie the night before; I think I need to do that class some more.

November 17, 2016 - Posted by | political/social, politics, politics/social, running, walking |

1 Comment »

  1. Ollie,

    I share in your horror……mostly in the fact that about 50% of the voters couldn’t see past Trump’s (incredibly transparent) facade and realise that he would literally say or do anything for their support. ……and, sadly, it’s worked.

    I reckon he’d have dropped his pants and taken a shit into his wife’s handbag live on stage if it would have got him a couple of extra votes from the “Shitting in your wife’s handbag club of West Virginia”, because that’s what’ll make America great again !

    Saying that, I appreciate you have some respect for her, but Clinton is hardly a shining example of the principle of seeking high office for sound ideological principles……….She would, however, have been an infinitely better choice than the somewhat deranged narcissist who still doesn’t know why he wanted to be president in the first place (other than to say “that’ll show ’em”)

    Anyway, let’s just sit back and watch the World burn……………

    Comment by Handy Bendy Ghandi | November 18, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

