blueollie

Too slow, too weak, too old….

Yesterday, I “ran” a 10K in 59:07. When I finished the race, the announcer said “welcome back Ollie”; evidently they noticed my hiatus from running races. It was the marathon and my preparation for it.

Miles: 9:10, 9:50, 9:24, 9:02, 9:26, 10:17, 1:55 (final 0.2). Guess which mile was net uphill and against the wind at the same time? 🙂

Yeah, I was unprepared and so I went at a “just don’t blow up” pace and tried to pick it up at the end. Yes, it was an effort but I did not take a “race risk”. But yeah, I faded just a little but never slowed to a walk and though my finish place was “deplorable” (36/58 overall, 20/28 among the guys, 4/6 in my age group), at least I was close enough to “the pack” to have people to run with at the end.

But it was good to “run with the group” and chat with my running friends.

I need to do more runs at this intensity. This 11:30 mpm bullshit that I usually do in training isn’t going to cut it.

Today: weights only (not that sore) and I was stronger than anticipated. Have I gained weight? (that would explain my 10K time)

rotator cuff, pull ups: 10-15-10-10-5 (ok, not much rest in between sets), bench: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 10 x 170 (strong), incline: 10 x 135
military: 7 x 50 dumbbell standing, 20 x 50 dumbbell seated, supported (strong), 10 x 200 machine, rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 each arm.

headstand, 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts.

Photos:
This was posted at the official run Facebook Page from the awards ceremony. No I did not win one, nor did I deserve to. But had I just told them at the finish line that I really did the 5K instead of the 10K, and used my 10K finish time, I would have “won” one. 🙂 (and been just as unworthy of one). I love statistical quirks.

edgewinner

November 14, 2016 - Posted by | running, spandex, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

