blueollie

Trump’s grope comments and female’s experiences

A good sign: I went out for 5K on a cool, crisp morning. During the first mile I had to talk myself out of doing 4 or 5 miles. But, when I got to mile 2, I was glad I was only doing 5K, so I still have some recovering to do. But it was a very pleasant jog.

Politics: the “nasty woman” comment that Trump made sparked memes, sayings, etc. I took one meme’s logo and added words to it:

nastywomen

Much to my delight, my favorite FB friend liked it.

Trump’s groping comments I’ve discussed those. And I directed people to Jerry Coyne’s website where he asked female readers to weigh in as to whether they’ve been violated. At least three wrote comments and I strongly suspect a 4’th one did. I knew about one of the stories before hand.

I had a couple of reactions:

1. I was ready to get “high and mighty” because I’ve never done any “Trump stuff” (ever) and, as an adult, I didn’t to any unsolicited touching. OR so I thought until I read the accounts of two women who worked at strip club type places (one wrote about it on my Facebook page). Then …yes, while in the Navy, we did make port calls and a few times I did go to bars with bar girls; they did sit on our laps; we did pat their butts, etc. No, no Trump stuff. And I suppose some consent was there; one time I went to a bar for the second time and one of the bar girls ran up to me saying “KING KONG!”; evidently I was a good customer (though I don’t recall spending that much).

I suppose that there WAS consent of a sort, but I don’t feel good about it.

The other reactions: some of the women who told their story are friends of mine; one is a “sort of ex” friend (“friends” as in “do stuff with” friends). I was struck by the fact that these women always seemed friendly with me; sometimes even a little bit “flirty” (and yes, it is a two way street). That just surprises me a bit, but I am woefully ignorant in this area.

October 21, 2016 - Posted by | running, social/political

1 Comment »

  1. In the following I refute the popular accusation that Trump’s 2005 comments, contained in the released audio segment, is evidence or proof that Trump somehow supports sexual assault.

    By Anonymous

    Note to those supporting Trump for president: Permission is given to reprint this in whole or in part.

    Let’s analyze the key words in a transcript of the audio segment released by the The Washington Post and NBC News to see if they demonstrate Donald Trump supporting or encouraging sexual assault as so many are now claiming. You can view this transcript on the internet.

    First, let’s examine the word “grope,” since this is the word being inappropriately used by commentators at apparently all levels of society in an attempt to discredit Trump. Here is what I pulled off the net. (There is more than one assigned meaning of this word, but I will only reprint the meaning associated with sexual behavior):

    Grope: “to touch (someone) in an unwanted and unexpected sexual way” http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/grope

    So lets see if the Trump’s comments fall within this particular meaning. In regards to the words “kissing,” which appear twice in the transcript, they are linked to the word “let” by the word “it.” The operative word there is “let.” Consent is explicit in “let.”

    Now, concerning the word “grab”: That was associated with the word “let” by the words “you can do anything,” which appear before and after the word “grab.” Obviously, the words “kissing” and “grab” were also stated within the context of consent.

    Regarding the words “I don’t even wait,” these words are inked to the words “let” and “it” and therefore are stated within the context of consent. They should be interpreted as describing action taken after consent is recognized and then acted upon without delay.

    In addition, there exists no proof that Trump walks around kissing or grabbing women without consent. This of course further supports the conclusion that these statements were in fact made within the context of consent.

    Conclusion: Given the above arguing points and considering Donald Trump’s notoriety and responsibilities, social and otherwise, at the time these comments were made, it is absolutely absurd to conclude that Trump’s comments were in any shape or form made outside of the realm of consent. However–and unfortunately–individuals at all levels of society and social media have thoroughly distorted Trump’s comments and the context in which they have occurred through omission, addition, and/or misrepresentation. Yes, his comments were inappropriate. However, that is in no way an excuse to lie on the man or to perpetuate unfounded conjecture.

    Comment by no name | November 8, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

