blueollie

Public Perception: Rep. Bustos becoming like Aaron Schock?

Yes, I like running as you can tell from this blog. Yes, I see a lot of spandex clad women on weekend mornings.

And then I saw this ad:

Yes, Ms. Bustos is a former NCAA athlete. And I wondered about the image:

Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill. dashes up the steps of the House of Representatives on Capitol Hill in Washington, Thursday, May 26, 2016, as lawmakers arrived for final votes before Congress leaves for a week-long Memorial Day recess. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill. dashes up the steps of the House of Representatives on Capitol Hill in Washington, Thursday, May 26, 2016, as lawmakers arrived for final votes before Congress leaves for a week-long Memorial Day recess. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

bustospurpleleggings

My spouse remarked “that is like Aaron Schock“.

Ugh. I suppose there is a fine line between showing that you are healthy and active (as President Bush did…and did effectively…and President Obama does it too) and going a bit too far. Where is the balance?

I also think of Sarah Palin and though I don’t like her, I think that she strikes about the right balance between putting forth “I am healthy and active” image and overdoing it.

But that is just me.

October 11, 2016 - Posted by | IL-17, political/social, politics, politics/social, running |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

