Trump’s remarks and young men: the messenger matters


Cool, easy but deliberate effort, 8.1

Trumps remarks Of course, many people deserve a voice in developing policy. And yes, when it comes to “winning hearts and minds”, there are many hearts and minds out there and many appropriate messengers for them.

So, I thought about Trump’s remarks and I thought about “which is the best way to reach young men”? And I thought back to my life 35-40 years ago (yes, I am old) and I thought “whose words made an impression on me”?

When it came to “women and the military” the discussion of “should women serve on submarines” came up. The “pro-integrating women” voice that stuck with me: the engineer of a fast attack submarine (a Naval Lt. Commander). I thought about the submarine captains.

Earlier than that, I thought about the younger men who I admired, sports coaches and the like.

That is when it occurred to me: the voices that will most reach the young guys are those who come from “those who have what I want”; that probably includes CEOs, military officers (both commissioned and non-commissioned), athletes, etc. And because I was a nerd, well, I respected the engineers and scientists. Liberal arts professors and outspoken feminists: not so much; I had no desire to “be like them”.

I suppose a version of that still holds for me today. When someone posts a Salon, Huff-po, or Vox article with the title “here is what men get wrong about X” , I don’t even bother to click the link. On the other hand, if Paul Krugman or Steve Pinker say something, I listen (or read). If someone is where I want to be (or wished that I were there), I pay more attention to them.

October 9, 2016 - Posted by | political humor, political/social, politics, social/political, walking

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

