blueollie

Keeping the pace where it supposed to be

I ran 5 miles on the treadmill in 54:50…sort of, then walked 1 mile plus outside.

The treadmill: I chose a corner of the gym where there is no air circulation to speak of; it is good for heat conditioning.

What I did: 5 minutes at 5.2 mph, 5 at 5.3, then alternated 2.5 minutes at 6.7, 2.5 at 5.3 until 35 minutes, then I went to 6.7 and then to 6.8 until I got to 4 miles (40:30) then I walked (increasing from 4.0 to eventually 4.4) until I got to 5 miles. By that time I was a sweaty mess; shirt was drenched and shorts looked like I had wet them.

Sometimes it is more comfortable to mix in “faster” (less slow?) running with “slower” running than to plod along at a steady pace.

September 14, 2016 - Posted by | running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

