blueollie

Homework and futility …

Workout notes: (speaking of futility)

rotator cuff
squats: lots of weightless squats, a few goblet squats with 25, one set with 40, finished with 10 x 210 leg press
pull ups: 15-10-10-10-5
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 7 x 170 (weak)
incline press: 6 x 150 (weak), 10 x 135
military: 7 x 50 dumbbell standing, 10 x 45 standing, 10 x 40 standing (couldn’t get 50’s in the air while sitting)
rows: 3 sets of 10 with 50 (single arm)
abs 2 sets each of 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts, 10 moving half-bridge.
headstand (surprisingly good)

Bad math/science puns

copperfield

dickens

Homework and futility Yes, I know that hard work can get most people, at least of a certain age, to improve on something.
But, well, let me use an example. Take any Division I football coach. What do they spend their time on? Sure, they set up game strategy, decide to who play and set up how to train their players. BUT…they spend a lot of time…recruiting talent. If talent didn’t matter, why is recruiting important?

Again, average players can improve with good coaching and hard training, but only so much.

I think that a similar principle applies in academics.
Sure, students say that they work hard in my classes, but these are college students; those in my engineering/science/mathematics section have a certain aptitude for the subject. Teaching and hard work bring out their talent. But they have it to begin with.

But what about grade school? Don’t they have to take everyone (within reason)?

So, I question the value of assigning too much homework to grade school kids. Again, I am talking about “too much for their level”.
Since this isn’t my field of study, I don’t know what the evidence says, though this post “seems” reasonable to me.

And there is something else going on here: I remember not doing much homework as a kid, and I sure as heck got no help from my parents. Yes, “that was then”. But…I can tell you that students who show up as freshmen in this day and age really aren’t any better prepared than we were..in fact, I’d say “somewhat less so”?

And I do wonder:

Research tells us the following about the impact of homework on children in primary school:

Homework offers no academic advantage. Instead, it overwhelms struggling children and is boring for high achievers.

Interesting…I’ll keep my eyes open for what else is out there.

September 9, 2016 - Posted by | education, social/political, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

