blueollie

Running and Football: regrets and gratitude..

Workout notes: weights followed by an easy 5K walk outside (easy). Weights were a mixed bag:
rotator cuff
pull ups (strong) 15-15-10-10
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185 (ok), 6 x 170 (very weak)
incline press: 7 x 150, 10 x 135
military press (dumbbell), couldn’t swing up the 50’s for standing, so 15 x 50 seated, supported, 2 sets of 10 x 40 standing
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 (each arm)
squats: a LOT of weightless sets from 5-10 reps, a few goblet squats with 25 and 30, 2 sets of leg presses
abs: headstand (good), 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, 2 sets of 10 moving half bridge.

I just lost power toward the end.

The walk went fine. I did notice that my quads are looking a little bit better.

Post

I did a running race yesterday; it was 4 miles (6.4 km) on a course of moderate difficulty. There were 421 finishers and places 4 to 15 ranged from 25:10 to 27:19.

As a 38 year old, I ran 25:41, 26:10 and 25:58. So if I could transport 38 year old self into this era, I’d be cleaning up! It is no secret that the “average” race times have really slowed. But there are more options for the motivated 5:30-6:30 “workout bro”; a guy who is not fast enough to be a runner but is intense and wants to try stuff. There are adventure races, trail races, triathlons, etc.

But when it comes to competitive sports…well, a conversation I had with an undergraduate student was instructive.

We talked a bit an I had mentioned that I played high school football. He guessed that I might have been a small linebacker. When I mentioned that I was an offensive tackle, he gave me that “this makes no sense” sideways glance.

bazu-8364122

This is me as of May, 2016. I am 6 feet tall and weigh 190 pounds. The reality: in high school, I was much too slow to play anywhere but on the line (I had to work to get my 40 yard dash DOWN to 5.9…no…I am not kidding). And in this day and age, I would have been too small to play the line (I played at 200-220 lbs.).

In short, in his era I never would have even seen the field as a high school player. So, in a sense, I was lucky to be the age that I am.

September 6, 2016 - Posted by | football, running, walking, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

