blueollie

My impending breakup of a long standing relationship

Workout notes: Hilly 8.1 mile course in 1:30:32; 59 F with 96 percent humidity at the start. It felt GOOD…almost like running in air conditioning.
Note: yesterday I walked 6.3 miles in 1:33; so it appears that given the same effort, I go 1/3 farther running than walking for the same duration. I don’t know if that means anything.

I do know this though: in 2000, when I was 41, I ran my best masters marathon in 3:38. In 2002, I walked the Quad Cities Marathon in 4:44. Well, Quad Cities is coming up in just over 3 weeks and frankly I am unlikely to do better than 5 hours, though I haven’t given up on that goal yet.

Reason: in training, it has been almost impossible for me to run beyond 3 hours; to get to 20 miles I’ve had to walk quite a bit.

The days of me racing a marathon are over. I am simply not built for it; I am too heavy and my legs cannot handle my upper body. And I am unwilling to quit weightlifting or swimming.

So, the relationship that I’ve had with the marathon since 1980 is over. Ok, it was really over in 2002 (when I walked/jogged a 4:04), though I faked it by walking marathons for time, with my last success coming in September 2009.

Oh, I am still going to attempt to participate in them, but I am thinking in terms of walking/jogging as necessary to get in under the time limit, or perhaps walking a 12 hour event.

But racing a marathon, either as a runner or a walker, is over for me. It has been a good run though…even if it has taken 7 years for me to realize that “it is really over”. I am a slow learner.

Good bye, you old “frienenemy”. I’ll miss you…and I won’t.🙂

And yes, I did enjoy today’s run, thank you very much.

September 1, 2016 - Posted by | marathons, running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

