blueollie

I just don’t have it

Well, my daughter is here as is her bunny:

buckynomnom

And during my run, I got a hug from “Mamma T”. So there is good going on…

But the “run”…OMG.

brutalhumidity

74 F isn’t that bad..but check out the humidity. 99 percent!!! Ugh…I was soaking wet by mile 8 or so…just drenched.

hotrun15.1

I added a spur in case the original course was short (it wasn’t).

ballfieldspur

3:16:33 was the time, 1:36:21/1:40:12 with the extra time on the return leg being due to the .2 mile spur plus…well, fatigue. I held up to it ok, though I felt as if I were running on “missing legs”; no leg strength at all. But that is what I could do today; I would have been in deep trouble had I 11 miles to go. Could I have done them in 2:40? Probably, but I would have had to do a LOT of walking.

Speaking of performance: I talked about having the ridiculous dream of being an athlete. Sadly, many parents push their kids in that direction…and the reality is that very few kids will even be Division 1 athletes, never mind professionals. If it isn’t in the genes, forget about it. But unsavory sports camp operators depend on parents having unrealistic aspirations.

Yes, I am a fan of youth sport and scholastic spots. Yes, I played them. But …your kid isn’t going to be a professional! Ever! (with probability .999). Play hard, have fun, and maybe, just maybe, your kid might find that they can find an activity that they love for life (me: running and weight lifting, which in turn lead to swimming, walking and hiking).

August 13, 2016 - Posted by | family, Friends, running, Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Yesterday, under the guise of “running”, I shuffled 15.3 miles in 3:16. It was 74 F at the end, though the humidity was 99 percent. […]

    Pingback by Heat and humidity « blueollie | August 14, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

