blueollie

Why “I am offended” isn’t good enough: education in the humanities

Watch this:

Now what was your reaction? Was it: ‘well, he is just stating a truth that we often don’t say out of politeness”? Was it: “how DARE he say that…I am OUTRAGED” ?

Those two reactions are really different sides of the same coin.

My reaction: “he is completely wrong but doesn’t understand why”. And that is one, of many reasons, that I value history and the humanities. That is one reason (among many) that we need all majors (including STEM majors) to take such courses. And that is why the increasing disrespect of the humanities (sometimes an earned disrespect) worries me.

Being able to be outraged isn’t the same as being educated. And, I truly wonder what percentage of people could explain why Rep. King’s statement was nonsense.

July 19, 2016 - Posted by | education, social/political |

2 Comments »

  1. I kind of dig education for education’s sake and was glad when my children chose liberal arts colleges. When I heard his comment, I thought of the Egyptians, Greeks, and the Moors, but must admit that I am lacking in education on this topic, which is why if I were a politician, I wouldn’t make such a comment.🙂 (Along with it being generally jerk-ish.)

    Comment by jenjw4 | July 20, 2016 | Reply

    • I didn’t remember where I saw the article, but Representatives speaking forcefully on they know nothing about is supposed to be common. I do know that in Living History, Hilary Clinton said that some members of Congress didn’t know the difference between Medicare and Medicaid.

      Comment by blueollie | July 20, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

