blueollie

Ooops: hard effort less than 24 hours after platelet donation: not good.

house15.48sheridannorthmore

The day was reasonable. But I did give platelets yesterday afternoon (1-3 pm) and, well, wasn’t at my best.

I went out ok (57 minutes at mile 5 and, well after the Tower and …well…I think it became a real struggle on the return leg (Forrest Park). My right foot started to hurt and the legs were dead; I more or less gave into in at the Nebraska/Broadway intersection. I walked it from there on in…legs gone.

Total time: 3:10 (1:29 out, 1:41 back with the walking). Pace: 12:17 mpm, with the walking. I was well under 12 prior to my shutting down. I averaged 11:34 for the first 14 miles which is ok.

Moral: give the platelets a few days prior to the long run; not the day before.

July 16, 2016 - Posted by | running |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

