blueollie

To my conservative friends: on Black Lives Matter

Ok, I’ll start with some caveats.

1. I do not think of you as evil or stupid. You wouldn’t be my friend if I thought that way. (Yes, I have conservative friends whose company I enjoy).

2. I realize that activists can be obnoxious, sanctimonious and, well, not know what they are talking about. They frequently make a mess of the statistics and exaggerate.
And yes, “death by police” accounts for an infinitesimal percentage of deaths among black people. Yes, there is some evidence that blacks are shot at lesser rate (per numbers of encounters with police) than white people, though..and here is the point, they are mistreated at higher rates (handcuffed, beaten, etc.. So, often the messengers are not people I feel compelled to listen to.

3. I have no delusions about tuning you into a liberal. That isn’t going to happen.

But, the reality is that black people, even those who do “the right things” and have achieved positions of power and success are constantly profiled and mistreated.

Listen to Sen. Tim Scott, a Republican. We agree on very little. But take the 15 minutes or so to listen to what he has to say. Imagine if you were stopped by law enforcement 6-7 times every single year, mostly for no good reason.

July 14, 2016 - Posted by | social/political | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I can be one of those obnoxious social justice warrior types, and I even realize that they/I am obnoxious.🙂

    My husband is a pretty conservative Republican (except for being an atheist, pro-gay-marriage, pro-some-gun-control, and moderately pro-choice) and he is in the “denial that racism exists” and “if you work hard, you will succeed” camp and it drives me fucking crazy, but I don’t think it makes him a bad person, just in denial and/or clueless about how others experience the world. (He, on the other hand, would say I suffer from white guilt and am naive.)

    I just don’t get how someone can hear about someone else’s experiences in the world and completely dismiss their reality.

    Comment by jenjw4 | July 14, 2016 | Reply

    • The deal: the more obnoxious types I dismiss as “background noise”; kind of life leaf blowers. I don’t like them and I find them annoying, but they do not convince me. I seek out ways to tune them out. The ones I listen to are the ones that I trust. People gain trust when they give me a reason to believe that they know what they are talking about (as this Senator did, or as experts do).

      Comment by blueollie | July 14, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

