blueollie

Police shootings, Black Lives Matter and all that….

Well, these topics are emotional.

On one hand, well, the data concerning deaths of black citizens at the hands of police is harsh. And incidents such as police being KKK members or posting photos of them aiming a gun at a caricature of a black person running is terrible.

But then, protesters are protesters and they think that they have a right to shut things down (no, they don’t). I know that Donald Trump is smiling. Those morons are not convincing anyone nor are they helping their cause, at least among the unconvinced.

They seem to think “if we make ourselves into enough of a nuisance they will HAVE to give in to our demands”. But I’ve seen no evidence of that happening. I know my reaction is “hmmm, I am glad that I don’t live there and if I did, I’d be looking to leave”. But I have not studied what effect such protests have had; if a reader has a good reference, I’d like to see it.

nopctrump

And I’ll get to the crux of the issue: yes, the police should serve all citizens, and all too frequently the citizens that they are encountering are, well, less than exemplary. Ok, many are out and out losers that I’d rather not associate with.

But that doesn’t negate the principle of everyone being treated fairly, and it sure looks as if some people get more benefit of the doubt than others.

Oh boy. This is depressing all the way around.

July 10, 2016 - Posted by | racism, social/political | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

