blueollie

Finisher’s medals, distinguishing events, etc.

Workout notes: rotator cuff,
pull ups 15-15-10-10
bench press: 10 x 135, 5 x 185, 10 x 170
incline press: 10 x 135
military press (dumbbells) 9 x 50, 10 x 45, 10 x 40
rows (dumbbell) 2 sets of 10 x 60, 10 x 110 machine
legs: 3 sets of weightless squats (5, 10, 10), 5 x 45 (not kidding)
front single legged dead lift (2 sans weights, 1 with…10 lb. dumbbells (not kidding))
abs: 2 sets each: 24 crunches, 12 twist crunch, 10 yoga leg lifts
headstand.

My legs are weak, weak, weak.

Topic

PENTAX Image

Steamboat medals 1998-2016 (a few gaps)

The question is about: “finisher’s medals”. What sparked my thinking about this: a friend had made it a goal to run the STeamboat 15K and get the finisher’s medal. She had previously done the 4 mile a few times. In the past, only 15K finishers got a finisher’s medal.

Well, this year: EVERYONE got a finisher’s medal. Well, this did not set too well with my friend. Note: she has gone longer in the past; she even finished a marathon on a brutally hot day (that is where I met her; during that race I remember a cutie with a small wedgie in her spandex passing me at mile 16; to my surprise she came by to say “hi” to me as I lay spread eagled on the ground afterward..)

But I won’t speak for her but rather give my own thoughts on the matter.

What I think happened: in the past, some of those who completed the “finish the 4 mile Steamboat race” program complained bitterly that finisher’s medals were only for the 15K and this change in policy was probably in response to that.

My feelings: remember that when I started running, finisher’s medals were mostly unheard of. The first 3 marathons I did had only “merit” awards; the Maryland Marathon required you to be in the top 50 to get a medal (around 2:40 for the males); my friend who ran 2:38 barely got one.

So, I was like “ok, that’s nice, I guess” about them. And these things play NO role in which races I sign up for. None.

Now how I feel about them: well, they might be a keepsake but, well, think of it this way: training runs/walks up to 20 miles for me are, well, more or less routine. So does a half marathon “finish” really mean much? Not really, at least in my state of health and at my current age. For me, it is about performance. So, if I did a half marathon run in, say, 2:05, or a walk in 2:30, I’d be happy, finisher’s medal or not. If it took me 2:20 (run) or 2:40 (walk), I’d be bummed, medal or not.

But that is from MY current perspective.

That being said: IF a race has different events and decides to give finisher’s medals, the medals should be different for the different events.

I remember doing my first Steamboat 15K. There was something about walking around after the event and seeing those with the medals on; it was some sort of symbol of “hey, we survived that brutal course” that gave a sense of community.

Now I am not going to say stuff about accomplishment; after all, it is much harder to run a 25 minute 4 miler than a 1:10 15K (I could do the latter but never could get below 25:20 for the 4 mile). So doing the 4 mile *well* is an excellent accomplishment and one well worth working for. But it isn’t the “survival” test that the 15K is, especially given the course. And I feel the same way about the half marathon/marathon events that give the same medal for both. Really? How about at least using a different ribbon for the medal?

One way to do it: I remember doing the National Capital races in Ottawa, Canada in 2000. I did the Saturday night 10K for time (44 minutes) and the Sunday morning half marathon (1:42). There the 10K medal was bigger than the 5K and rectangular. The marathon/half marathon was on a loop course; one loop for the half, 2 for the full. If you finished the half, your medal was a half a maple leaf. The full marathon finishers got the full maple leaf. All events had their own, distinctive medal. I liked that.

June 20, 2016 - Posted by | running, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

