blueollie

Nothing left to be said

It is getting close to “put up or shut up” time.

Workout notes: weights: rotator cuff (full set), pull ups: 15-10-10, bench press: 10 x 135, 10 x 170, incline press: 10 x 135, military press: 10 x 200 (machine), row 10 x 100 machine, McKenzie
2 mile jog in lane 2 22:10. Light grass cutting.

Attitude: excitement, eagerness and a bit of anxiety. Keys to success:

1. Good pre race check list (so I don’t forget anything)
2. Keep ego in check early; go easy when I am feeling great.
3. Don’t panic or get discouraged at slow early splits. This isn’t 2004-2006. I have a different body.
4. Avoid early nausea. If I can keep my stomach feeling ok for the first 10-12 hours, all should be well. But that goes back to 2.
5. Toughness during the “tunnel of despair” period.

June 2, 2016 - Posted by | running, weight training |

2 Comments »

  1. I hope you have a great race! My friend Shawn always says, “Don’t be a jackass in the first half or a pussy in the last half,” which I interpret as “don’t go out too fast or give up when it starts to hurt.”

    Comment by jenjw4 | June 3, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

