blueollie

Finishing it up…

Today’s walk: 12.5 mile walk:
house12.48wpeoria3loopbrdleypark

I’ve had trouble with having to make bathroom stops (too much coffee prior to walking?) so initially I cut my West Peoria course to take in the track; it turns out that there is no porta-potty there (there used to be one) so I cut through the track, back through the neighborhood to Waverly then to Heading and then to Bradley Park. There I did three 1.4 mile loops (Cornstalk) then back to do the usual 4 mile return leg starting on Heading. Things had warmed up again.

Last leg: 59:39 or 3:07:02 for the 12.48 miles (just a hair under 15 minutes per mile).

Now the taper begins. I haven’t a clue as to how FANS will go; my goal will be to maintain the same pace I did last year, but this time: no break from walking. I’ll have to take my ego completely out of it and forget about my past results, good and bad, while remembering what worked and what didn’t work in terms of food, water, effort, etc.

Training: much more this time.

19 weeks worth, starting with January 16 (weekends listed): 13-8, 11-12, 14-13, 15-13, 14-13, 15-4 (sick), 4-10, 15-11, 15 (travel; Tuesday), 6 (5K)-15, 6 (5K)- 10, 18-13,18-14, 18-15, 20-16, 6(5K)-15, 20(5K)-15, 20-15, 20-12.
In between I had mostly 6-8 mile runs and some walking, and of course, lifting and swimming (until I heard a shoulder “pop”).

Last night: I took in a game between the Peoria Chiefs and the Beloit Snappers.

21may2016chiefsgame

This was my 4’th Chiefs game of the year (I made 6 Bradley games) and yes, it was yet another loss: 10-1. The Chiefs lead 1-0 after 1 and it was competitive going into the 8’th inning. Then came 3 runs for the Snappers in the 8’th and 4 more in the 9’th; a “doable” 3-1 deficit became 10-1. So the Chiefs wasted 8 hits and gave up 15 hits, and made 2 errors as well. It was a good night to watch baseball though, and they had a large crowd.

May 22, 2016 - Posted by | baseball, training, walking |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

