blueollie

An example of how the brain fills in information

Workout notes: weights only.
rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 9 x 170 (just a bit off)
incline press: 10 x 135
military: 2 sets of 12 x 50 dumbbell, seated, supported, 10 x 40 standing.
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 dumbbell
head stand (rough)
plank: 20 seconds of front-side-front-side-front-side-front-side, not letting the torso touch the ground.
twist crunch: 2 sets of 12
yoga leg lefts: 2 sets of 10

On the way back from the gym, I saw a gold Prius driving toward me. I “saw” that it had green “environmental” Illinois license plates. When I got closer: nope…those were standard white plates. I would have sworn to a lie!

Reason: the gold Prius I drive has those green plates; when I saw that other car my mind just made up what it couldn’t see clearly and “filled in” the details.

I’ve talked about my brain playing tricks on me in terms of my remembering what I did NOT do. This is why eyewitness testimony is not that reliable; our brain puts in missing details and can be conned into remembering what did not happen.

I think that I do the same thing with human relationships. When I meet someone, either “on line” or in “real life”, I only see a narrow slice of them, so to speak. I see them in a particular setting, say “the office”, on a run or in a political discussion. And my brain starts “filling in the details” as to what they might be like, and I am sometimes surprised when I find that they are “not like that” at all.

I’ve seen this over and over again with my wife; she spent years working with people and giving them counselling on various levels. So part of her job was to get to understand the person, and, often, the other person made inferences about her. And many of those inferences were wildly inaccurate.

May 20, 2016 - Posted by | brain, Friends, social/political, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

