blueollie

I really don’t push myself anymore: an example

Workout notes rotator cuff
pull ups: 15-15-10-10
bench presses: 10 x 135, 5 x 185 (strong), 10 x 170 (strong *)
incline presses: 10 x 135
military (dumbbell): 2 sets of 12 x 50 (seated, supported), 10 x 40 standing
rows: (single arm dumbbell), 3 sets of 10 x 50
head stand (gym floor with mat)
planks: 20 seconds each: front-side-front-side-front-side-front-side
No touching the floor with the body at any time; stacking the ankles on the side and an extended, straight arm.
twist crunch: 2 sets of 12
yoga leg lifts: 2 sets of 10

Then an easy “for the soul” 5K walk outside; too pretty not to. Pre walk body weight: 188.

Shoulder: still slightly sore; not that bad though.

Title of the post: on my set of 10 x 170: on my last rep I lowered the bar, touched the chest and when I started up, I didn’t like the direction/trajectory the bar was going (I like to raise it “over my eyes”). So I lowered it back to my chest and pushed it back up again, this time with a better trajectory. It *looked* that I had gotten stuck. But the fact is that I lift in a way where I quit a set when I still have 1-2 extra reps left (yes, this bench has safety catches).

So I wonder if my current weakness is the result of attitude, *in addition to* age.

I know that these-a-days I spend much more workout time in my “comfort zone” than I used to. But hey, it is still fun.

throughtheages

May 16, 2016 - Posted by | injury, walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

