blueollie

Non optimal training

Workout notes: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10), bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 7 x 170 (sore shoulder..cut back), incline: 10 x 135, dumbbell military: 2 sets of 12 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 40, rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 dumbbell, head stand (rough entry), 2 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts.

Then 5K walk to and from Bradley park (main hill).

This was an old person’s workout. For one, the 5K walk was just because, well, it was too pretty not to. Sometimes I’ll do these just because I want to, rather than stay disciplined.

On the flip side: I remember back in 1975 working in the high school weight room which had one of those old Universal gyms.

universalold

I was trying to do 220 pounds in the bench press (that is what it went up to; you could then stack on extra weights on the bar above). Oh my…the first time, people were around me, shouting and yelling encouragement ….PUSH PUSH…” And after what seemed like an eternity, I got it.

Well…no more efforts like that.🙂 I really don’t push for that last one anymore and that might be one reason I am not as strong as I could be. But hey, in the days were improvement is out of the question, it is about slowing the rate of decline and that is a different mentality.

May 13, 2016 - Posted by | walking, weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

