blueollie

Changing direction (workouts)

I am seriously considering trying my hand at the FANS 24 hour…again. I haven’t had a great deal of success at this race:

2006: 83 miles
2007: 66 miles
2008: 47 miles (retired half way)
2009: 66 miles
2011: 54 miles
2015: 59.9 miles (dang it…this one still burns me)

But I should be in better shape come race day..at least in my best shape since 2006. We’ll see how it goes.

But that means I need to add a walk to my workout schedule, so I walked this morning (5 miles) and will add to that; I’ll also walk on Sunday and walk after my long Saturday run.
5K races: April 30, May 7 and perhaps Memorial Day Saturday. I have one professional trip as well; the rest of the weekends between now and then will be devoted to long walks and long runs. I’ll also “go long” the day after those 5K races, with exception of the Memorial Day one.

My walk went fine.

Later: I did lift weights over lunch, and did things in a different order:

bench press: 10 x 135, 1 x 185, 1 x 200, 4 x 185, 7 x 170
rotator cuff
pull ups: 5 sets of 10 (not that easy)
rows; 3 sets of 10 x 110 (machine)
military presses: 2 sets of 10 x 200 (100 each arm, machine), 10 x 40 dumbbell (standing)
plank: 2 minutes (strict)

This was the first time I got 200 in a long time.

March 30, 2016 - Posted by | walking, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

