blueollie

Concessions and adjustments to age

I only lifted today; I’ll restart swimming this Monday. But I did get three lifting workouts this week.

pull ups: 5 sets of 10. Confession: in the last 2 sets or so, my last 3 reps are pretty ragged…does that chin get completely over the bar…uh…maybe.🙂
rotator cuff exercises
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185 (better…not quite 5), 8 x 170 (better, but not 10). Yes, no bounce, hips down.
incline press: 10 x 135
military press: 2 sets of 12 x 50 seated, supported, 10 x 40 standing (with dumbbells)
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 50 (dumbbells, each arm)

headstand (kind of ragged at first)
2 sets of 12 twist crunches
2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts
moving bridge recoveries.

My concessions: I am worried about losing my grip strength; hence I tend to use dumbbells and do unassisted pull-ups rather than use machines. Military: I lower my elbows so that my upper arms don’t go below a 90 degree angle with my torso. Also, on the bench press, I rarely try for a single maximum. I get a similar ego-boost by doing 3-5 reps with bodyweight (185). Yeah, for a younger man that would suck, but I quit being young a long time ago.

I also spend a lot of time on PT exercises, namely for my Achilles, back and shoulders.

As far as the exercises, I do some mixing. Some days, I do military presses with barbells; some days I only do standing ones. And I alternate days: one workout I emphasize the flat bench press, the next I do incline presses. It is all about spreading the stresses.

One final concession: I keep the workouts “fun”. Hence I do pull ups, bench presses, and the headstand. I could make up all sorts of reasons for doing these exercises, but mostly I do them because I enjoy them. That keeps me going to the gym, even if one could argue that a different mix of exercises would be “closer to optimal”.

I do something similar in swimming (e. g. include strokes that I enjoy such as back, side and butterfly; the latter in small amounts).

March 18, 2016 - Posted by | weight training |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

