blueollie

Acceptance

I am still on Spring Break, and I really don’t do well with unstructured time. But I did get out for a 10K training run and should hike a bit in just a little while.

The run: untimed on my Cornstalk course, but I did pick up the pace for one of my “lower loop” laps, which I did in 10:29 (8:30-8:35 pace) and that feel good; it felt “sort-of” hard …er…harder.

Along the way: when i was entering the park I saw a fit, perhaps 30-40 year old man running on the grass…he passed me and I wasn’t even tempted to pick up the pace. Then in the park, young woman in tight running leggings..again I wasn’t even tempted.

The reality is that I am now slower than most “regular runners”, at least on most days. I do a bit better than “the average” at those little 5K events but that is mostly because there are so many new runners; I get my doors blown off at things like marathons.

One tidbit: yesterday I was in the Bradley locker room with two other professors; ALL of us had finished last year’s Peoria Marathon…and all of us were slower than average. Oh yes..all of us have grey hair. Coincidence? The topic of discussion was the Chicago Marathon, which I had done. They asked me when I did it and my response: “I’ll put it this way: I ran a 3:46”. In other words, a loooooooong time ago (1998).

BUT: I have the health to do it at all, and that might not always be the case. So..it is to be savored.

Later: I went to Forrest Park Nature Center with Barbara. It took her a good long while; my outer loop was 1:01:38, which included having to go under a tree; I did enough to make 4. Barbara hung in there and got about 3 miles. Then Indian buffet.

March 17, 2016 - Posted by | hiking, running |

2 Comments »

  1. I don’t do well with unstructured time, either. I think that’s why I am so active with various groups. Somehow I get more done when I have more to get done.

    Last night I had a really good run but I think it was all a matter of comparison. I had spent the previous 10 days in Canada and hiked in really steep terrain and snowshoed a lot. Being able to move with more agility and without the cumbersome snowshoes made me feel more fleet of foot. 🙂

    Comment by Jennifer | March 17, 2016 | Reply

    • Yes; the smoother surface allows for a faster turnover. As you might have known, I saw the hiking photos and NOT only the ones that I “hearted”🙂

      Comment by blueollie | March 17, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

