blueollie

Bad reasons to vote Trump…and the Senate races

I am somewhat amused at the Republicans refusing to consider a nominee from President Obama. They control the Senate at this time, and they may well get a better deal now (say if President Obama nominates a moderate) than they would if they wait.

There are Senate races and the Democrats have some promising pick up opportunities:

Even before they were forced to reconcile whether to support Donald Trump and whether to consider President Obama’s Supreme Court nominee, Senate Republicans had their work cut out for them to keep control of the chamber they won in 2014. They’re defending 24 of the 34 seats up in 2016, and seven of those are in states that voted for Obama not once but twice.

The latest complications on the national level have only made Republicans’ job more difficult. Eight of the top 10 Senate races we list here as the most likely to change parties in November are Republican-held, and University of Virginia electoral experts Larry Sabato and Kyle Kondik think if Trump is Republicans’ nominee, it will move nearly every race on this list (and then some) closer to Democrats’ reach.

In other words, Democrats have more than one path to win back control of the Senate. Overall, they need to win five states, or just four if Democrats take the White House, since the vice president can serve as a tie-breaker in a 50-50 Senate.

Wouldn’t it be lovely to see this blow up in Mitch McConnell’s face?

Now about Donald Trump: yes, he is attracting some “secret support” and I found this one to be the most interesting:

I’m a liberal-left college professor in the social sciences. I’m going to vote for Trump but I won’t tell hardly anybody.

My main reason is anger at the two-party system and the horrible presidencies of Obama and Bush. But I’m also furious at political correctness on campus and in the media.

I’m angry at forced diversity and constant, frequently unjustified complaints about racism/sexism/homophobia/lack of trans rights. I’m particularly angry at social justice warriors and my main reason to vote Trump is to see the looks on your faces when he wins.

It’s not that I like Trump. It’s that I hate those who can’t stand him. I want them to suffer the shock of knowing all their torrents of blog posts and Tumblr bitch-fests and “I just can’t …” and accusations of mansplaining didn’t actually matter. That they’re still losing. And that things are not getting better for them. They’re getting worse.

Oh yes, the know-it-all “activists” and “social justice warriors” who have their lists and seem to want to insist on the “proper amount of outrage” over certain alleged offenses. Yeah, I can’t stand them either and part of me relishes seeing their faces if Trump gets elected.

BUT: I also care about our country, and I see Trump as a con artists who has failed to deliver on many promises that he (or those using his brand) have made in the past. And no, he can’t fire Congress. I think that problems deserve careful consideration and thoughtful working together with others. I see Trump as a skilled con artist who won’t be able to get action on some of his biggest promises. And yes, I like *some* of his economic platform: infrastructure repair and rebuilding and protecting Social Security and Medicare. And I get a thrill watching him call out George W. Bush for Iraq, “not keeping us safe” (9/11 happened on his watch, though I don’t blame him for it…still that is not being “kept safe”), and eschewing more tax breaks for the wealthiest among us.

Still competence matters and I see no one more knowledgeable and prepared than Hillary Clinton.

Donald Trump is a non-starter with me, though I dislike many who dislike him.

March 4, 2016 - Posted by | politics, politics/social | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

