blueollie

Satisfaction and getting it done

Walking away from the Riverplex a man said with a smile “got it done today?” I smiled and said “yes…now you are getting yours”. For some reason, I found that exchange uplifting.

I went to bed very early and got up very early, so I had time to swim longer.
Weight: 182.5 before swimming.
Pool: empty at the start, filled up; a couple of kick butt swimmers were there, as was I.

2000 free, 3 x 100 (25 fly, 25 free, 25 back, 25 free) 2 x 100 IM, 100 side/free, 100 free, 100 side/free, 3 x 100 (alt pull, free), 100 side.
Weights: weak. But the Riverplex had shiny new weight equipment!

Rotator cuff
pull ups: 15-10-10-10-5 (ran out of gas)
bench press: 10 x 135, 1 x 185, 5 x 170, 7 x 160 (exhausted)
incline press: 10 x 135 (strong)
military press: 3 sets of 10 x 40 dumbbell (standing)
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 55 dumbbell (each arm)
abs: 2 sets of 12 twist crunches, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, moving bridge recoveries, headstand (good)

Touchy-feely
rejection

Now on a professional level, I don’t believe this. Sometimes one aims for, say, a desired position, and gets beat out by better competition. And sometimes one gets rejected for, say a promotion, and sometimes my work has gotten rejected by my first choice journal.

But hey, that is all part of aiming high. Sometimes your best simply isn’t good enough to win. It stings, but, for me, it is far better to try. The successes make it worth it.

Now when it comes to personal relationships (and I am thinking of friendships here), yeah, every time you extend your hand in friendship, you risk either rejection or being let down. Both sting. And yes, I had recent experience with this.

But the friendships that DO work out (and many of mine have; in fact I’d say the vast majority of them have) are those that make the risk well worth it. Hey, leaving a toxic personal relationship (whatever level) leaves more time and emotional energy for the good ones. It is better to nurture the relationships that uplift both parties than to waste time and energy on those that will never work out. For me, the good vastly outweighs the bad, and yes, happily, I’ve had recent experience with this too.

And yes, I am looking forward to some upcoming outings with friends!

February 17, 2016 - Posted by | swimming, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

