blueollie

Iowa Results…

Workout notes: not that bad. I took it to the track because I wanted a bit more turnover.
Lane 2: 9:48, 9:23, 9:25, 9:13 (37:52) 8:50, 8:29 (55:12), 2:29 (57:41 for 10K), then 27:41 walk (2 miles) on the treadmill, starting at 3.7 mph and upping it every 2 minutes.

Last 2 miles: 17:19, which isn’t that bad given a reasonable first 4 and that I wasn’t killing myself. I really am starting to feel a bit like my younger self..just a bit. I think it is because I am in a better place emotionally than I was at the end of last year. And part of it is that I’ve recovered from my “marathon/trail 30 mile” double (3 weeks apart).

Yes, I know; this 57 minutes isn’t the 45-46 minutes that I was doing 15 years ago. But it is better than I was a few months ago and that will have to do.

Iowa The traditional right winger Cruz beat the “populist right winger” Trump 28-24; high turnout and the fact that the “late deciders” didn’t like Trump helped Cruz. Now will Trump stick around or take his ball and go home?

Among the Democrats: Sanders people are spinning. Clinton people are spinning.

Here is how I see it: IF the goal of the Sanders campaign is to be heard and taken seriously and possibly to influence the platform, then they did very well. They came from nowhere, worked their butts off and got good results.
But if their goal is to WIN the nomination, then it wasn’t good for them. They had demographics (a mostly white state), a liberal Democratic electorate, and it was a caucus where enthusiasm meant a great deal. And with all that, they couldn’t win.

As a Clinton supporter: I am relieved but not in a celebratory mood.

How this affected the betting lines: she slipped a bit in the overall going from 5/6 to 10/11, but still remains “better than even money”. And Trump has slipped and Rubio moved up ahead of him!

afteriowaodds

I admit that, as a Democrat, Rubio worries me more than the other candidates.

February 2, 2016 - Posted by | politics, politics/social, running, walking | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

