blueollie

Riverplex Interactions

Swimming and lifting today:

Swim: 1000 free, 4 sets of 5 x 100 on 2:10 (alternate fist/free, 25 catch up, 75 free, 3g, 75 free, 25 fly, 75 free), 100 back (slowly)
lifting: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10), bench press: 10 x 135, 1 x 185, 7 x 170, 10 x 155, incline press: 7 x 135 (tired), dumbbell military (standing) 3 sets of 10 x 40, 3 sets of 10 rows
abs (twist crunch, yoga leg lifts..2 sets..with moving bridge recoveries, headstand)

Swimming: of course, swimmers congregate in pools and so I am usually next to someone. As I was warming up, a faster swimmer was doing intervals and she was gaining. I told myself DON’T TRY TO RACE HER..going to fast in warm ups always hurts my workout. But I admit that I did breathe to her side as she passed me…I got a great look as she drew next to me (thanks to prescription goggles) and that took the some of the pain away.🙂

Lifting: I finish with headstand and, though I was shaky going up, some bespandexed lady said “you got it” as I was getting into it. She put her mat next to mine in the stretching area. As I got out and got up she smiled at me and said “hi”..we exchanged greetings. She was wearing a tie-dye top so I suspect she might be a yoga teacher or at least practice.🙂

But having a “community” in the gym is what keeps many of us going. I know that I look forward to a little social interaction with the “regulars”, and I am as introverted as they come.

Now..ready to start my lesson plans.

January 18, 2016 - Posted by | swimming, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

