blueollie

longish, coldish run

riverplextojunctioncity

it was 20F during my run, with 10-15 mile per hour winds. Nevertheless, the footing was good (one 100 yard snowy patch, and even that had long dry strips one could run on). 1:16:35/1:17:15 for 2:33:50 (11:50 pace). There were a few other runners out there; a group of 3 fast guys passed me on the way out.

Note: I did have a calf “almost spasm” on the way back (left).

One difference between me now and me a few years ago: in the past, if I saw a runner in the distance going in the same direction, I’d usually catch them. No longer; I am often the slowest one out there training.

But given I was after an “easy effort” run, I WAS running a correct pace. The days of 10 minute miles being my “easy pace” were over 10 years ago. It was “11 minute miles” a few years ago, and now it is 12 minute miles (approximately). Yeah, the cold slowed me down some, and so did the blood donation last week.

But the chart works, doesn’t it?

Screen shot 2016-01-16 at 3.58.47 PM

I admit that when I thought about today’s run, I teared up because I remember those Saturday runs with Steve Foster and crew. (Yes, these were at a much faster pace). I miss you buddy!

So, while my “eagle is gone”…I am still moving forward and grateful to be able to.

oldandnewthongs

January 16, 2016 - Posted by | Friends, running

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

