blueollie

What makes us good also drives others crazy

Workout notes I made a mistake and didn’t notice that there would be no 11-1 pm swim at the university.
I did get in a nice weight workout and a walk though.

Weights: rotator cuff
pull ups: 15-10-10-10-5
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 9 x 170
incline: 10 x 135
military: 2 sets of 12 x 50 dumbbells, seated, supported, 10 x 40
rows: 2 sets of 10 x 50 dumbbell, 10 x 110 machine.
Abs: 3 sets of 12 twist crunch, 2 sets of 10 yoga leg lifts, moving bridge recoveries, headstand.

Walk: 26:47 for 2 miles (lane 2 track; 13:40/13:07) then 28:40 for 2 miles on the treadmill, going 0-1-2-3-4-5-6-7 elevation 3 times plus some more 2-3-4-5-6-7: 4 miles total.

Post: Vontaze Burfict was suspended for 3 games next season. He is a Cincinnati Bengals linebacker. Though he was a star at Arizona State (I was him play against Illinois in 2011), he was not drafted due to teams being scared away by his instability.

And the playoff game against the Steelers showed that. One one hand he was all over the field, making plays that only he could make. And with 1:4x left in the game, Bengals up by 1 and the Steelers with the ball, he made a fantastic interception to all but seal the game.

But the Bengals fumbled it away, and on the ensuing Steeler drive, Burfict drew a 15 yard penalty for a head to head hit on a pass play, well after the ball had passed the receiver. That, plus another 15 yard penalty on the aftermath (against a Bengal defensive back) gave the Steelers 30 extra yards with 18 seconds to go and didn’t cost the Steelers any time. The Steelers won the game with a field goal.

In short, Burfict basically won the game (if it weren’t for the fumble) and lost the game, all within the last 1:45 or so.

His “devil may care” attitude makes him a great, athletic player….and costs his team key penalties.

What a great metaphor for our character defects!

One of mine is that I tend to obsess. Socially, and in other cases, I don’t know when to back off.

This makes me difficult to be around and difficult to live with..and at times, difficult to be friends with.
But my being obsessive helped me lose and keep off 140 pounds …though it may have helped me gain the weight to begin with.
My being obsessive makes me a bore at times. But that is also what got me the Ph. D. in math, despite having subpar talent. It got me 101 miles of walking in under 24 hours despite having no athletic ability.

I might workout too much. But many guys my age look like Jabba The Hut..I do not.

It helps me solve math problems and publish math articles….I keep at the problem …sometimes for too long. But I also have a trouble getting unproductive ideas and thoughts out of my head.

January 12, 2016 - Posted by | NFL, Personal Issues, social/political, walking, weight training

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

