blueollie

NFL binge…and road tripping

Well, given that the Colts have a really, really, really, really long shot at making the playoffs (and thereby hosting a playoff game)

Indianapolis clinches AFC South division with:

IND win + HOU loss + IND ties HOU in strength of victory tiebreaker and clinches strength of schedule tiebreaker over HOU

Note: IND ties HOU in strength of victory tiebreaker and clinches strength of schedule tiebreaker over HOU if BOTH of the following occurs:

All of the following teams win: ATL, BAL, BUF, DEN, MIA

OAK win or tie + PIT win or tie as long as both teams don’t tie

If Houston and Indianapolis end up tied in strength of victory and tied in strength of schedule, the teams would then go to the next tiebreaker, which is best combined ranking among AFC teams in points scored and points allowed in all games.

Barring an impromptu trip to, say, Cincinnati, or Minneapolis or Kansas City or even Green Bay, my football watching days are over…until next September.šŸ™‚

I think that my football wanderlust is the result of my no longer going to Texas, my no longer being able to do multiple marathons, no political campaigns to work on and my love of the impromptu road trip.

goatroadtrip

So this season, I watched 8 college games (6 Illinois home games, 1 Baldwin Wallace home game, 1 Illinois State playoff game) and 8 NFL games.

The NFL experience was interesting. A season ticket holder sees 8 regular season home games, which means that they see 9 teams, with no team being seen twice.

I saw 10 different NFL teams: the Rams plus 5 opponents, Colts plus one opponent (one in common with the Rams) and Chiefs plus one opponent. In the process, I saw teams from every division EXCEPT the AFC East and the NFC East.
NFC west: Rams, 49’ers, Cardinals
NFC central: Lions and Bears
NFC south: Buccaneers
AFC west: Chiefs
AFC central: Browns
AFC south: Colts, Texans

So I saw more variety than a season ticket holder. And yes, in my opinion, the Cardinals were, by far, the best team I saw this year, though the Bears played very impressively *when I saw them*.
The Bears: 1-6 at home, but 5-3 on the road, with victories over the Packers, Chiefs and Rams? Hmmm. They are hard to figure out.

But I digress.

Past years to 2009 when I started watching again:

2014: 10 college (2 bowl, 1 D-3), 4 NFL (one playoff)
2013: 8 college (1 bowl), 4 NFL
2012: 7 college, 2 NFL
2011: 8 college, 3 NFL (first year of Illinois season tickets)
2010: 2 college, 2 NFL, 1 NFL exhibition (part of a Cardinals/Rams doubleheader)
2009: 1 NFL (wife took me…got me hooked again)

And no, I do not plan to stop. A note as far as bowls: I’ve seen several through the years (13 ?) but have only seen one of “my” teams 6 times: Texas once, Navy twice, Notre Dame twice, Illinois once. Most of the time I just went to..well…roadtrip. And once I just happened to be travelling through Dallas on the day of the Cotton Bowl, so I stopped and bought a 5 dollar ticket from someone!

December 29, 2015 - Posted by | college football, football, NFL | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

