blueollie

The “Happy Holidays” greeting: it is not about “taking offense”

I’ve gotten into a discussion about holiday greetings; evidently some are distraught that some businesses instruct their employees to greet people with “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”:

xmasgreeting

When I say “Happy Holidays”, it is to include others that might be celebrating a different holiday during this season. Yes, I know; our society has evolved into one in which the Christmas holiday is celebrated. But we have lots of non-Christians too, and some have taken relatively minor holidays from their tradition to be something a bit more celebrated so as to fit in.

Also, New Year’s Day is big. So I say “Happy Holidays” to include non-Christians into my greeting. I really don’t see how that harms Christians in any way.

And no, I am not offended if someone says “Merry Christmas” to me, no more so than when someone gives me a “good wishes” greeting from some other tradition.

November 12, 2015 - Posted by | social/political | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

