blueollie

Dealing with a bruised ego

Well, sometimes I need to remind myself that I’ve had my chances to have fun.

True: only one of these awards represents a performance that could be considered “athletic” (the 101 miles walked in 24 hours) but every award here is for finishing a race that was a marathon or longer. The medals hanging from the “logs” are road marathon finisher’s medals. The other awards (lying flat) represent 50K or longer.

PENTAX Image

PENTAX Image

This second photo represents my McNaughton Park race finishes: the 4 logs are the Mc-Not-Again 30; one medal is a 50K and the other is a 50 mile; the three buckles represent one 50 mile and two 100 mile finishes.

PENTAX Image

PENTAX Image

So what if I won’t be able to “go longer, faster” anymore. I can still challenge myself from time to time. One of my goals is do finish one marathon (or longer) a year for as long as I am able…even if that means seeking out longer time limit events or, say, 8-12 hour events.🙂

November 9, 2015 - Posted by | marathons, ultra | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Anchorage has an 8 hour time limit. Anchorage is worth visiting at least once.

    Comment by Therese Brink | November 9, 2015 | Reply

    • The We Walk Marathon (Lake Woebegone) and the Arkansas Marathon have long time limits too. Also, Quad Cities now has a 6:30 time limit, which is still plenty for me.

      Comment by blueollie | November 9, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

