blueollie

Post Ultramarathon thoughts…

Workout notes: weights, yoga and some light cycling (indoor; 10 minutes)
Weights: pull ups (5 sets of 10, sort of weak)
rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 3 x 185, 7 x 170 (sort of weak)
incline press: 10 x 135 (challenging)
rows: 10 x 110 machine, 2 sets of 10 x 60 dumbbell (each arm)
military presses: 3 sets of 10 x 40 standing dumbbells

Then the bike, then yoga. I felt looser after than I did before.

Post Ultra thoughts:

1. Several runners gave encouragement as I got out of their way (single track). Mostly I nodded or didn’t say much. I was just in a weird zone; no ability to be bubbly. The one time I responded is when a MILF with spandex (with VPLs) remarked that all the clothing I was wearing had to be making me hot. I responded: “I am not going fast and therefore not generating heat.” She said “I would not say I was going fast.” I responded “you are going fast, RELATIVE TO ME.”

Later in the race (close to the end of my second loop and on the third), I let attractive bespandexed women go; I was physically and mentally whipped.

2. I found a smart phone on the trail…happily it was returned to its owner.

3. This is one problem I have with being older: yes, my capabilities have declined. But by how much? How much better would I have done had I worked on leg strength? How about having done my road marathon 5-6 weeks earlier instead of 3 weeks earlier?

On the latter point: I had a friendly “competition” with a hot marathoning running GILF. She did the Farmdale 30 miler in 9:30 a few weeks ago (1 week prior to my road marathon) and I had that time in mind..at least until mid way. She did a road marathon yesterday and did it about 30 minutes slower than I’d expect for her. It seems as if both of us did better in our first event than in the second; perhaps people who are older than 50 need more recovery time?

Yes, I know; there are 50+ year olds who routinely do multiple marathons back to back; I think that they are the exception.

4. But this event exposed one of my weaknesses: very weak legs. I think that strengthening my legs will pay dividends in my other events.

I’d decided to focus on the 1 mile to 5K run and on the marathon walk; I plan to do this in alternate seasons (3-4 months: marathon walk, 3-4 months: 1 mile to 5K run).

But I know myself: I’ve never been able to stick with lower body strength training unless I was rehabbing or I had a specific event in mind.

So, I am thinking of singing up for the Potawatomi 50 mile in April (34 hour time limit so I can “stage this”, if needed) as a way of getting me to work on leg strength. If I do sign up, I’ll know that I need to do concentrated hill/leg strength or else I’ll be toast. It is an idea; perhaps it is a bad one.

This should give me plenty of time to get ready for the walker’s marathon in Minnesota (late May).

November 8, 2015 - Posted by | weight training | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

