blueollie

College Football: pleasant for me

Ok, while I was out on the trail, I missed the day football games. I would have watched Illinois vs. Purdue, which was a dominating 48-14 victory for the Illini. They decide to play their best game of the season the time I don’t watch.

Maybe I should skip watching them the rest of the year?πŸ™‚ No way; I have tickets to the Ohio State game next weekend. OSU is favored by 16-17.

Illinois has a better shot at Minnesota (November 21) and perhaps an outside shot at Northwestern (November 28). One more win means a bowl game.

I also missed Notre Dame handling Pittsburgh 42-30; note that Pitt got a last “2 minutes” TD on a fumble return.

I thought that this might be an upset; clearly ND was ready for the game on the road.

ND has Wake Forrest at home next week, then Boston College in Boston, followed by a trip to play Stanford at the end of the season. If ND plays the way that I think they will, the Stanford game could be a play-off game for both teams.

I DID get a chance to watch the Navy game (all most all of it)

Navy flat out dominated the game; the defense got turn overs and stops and the Navy ground attack just rolled. And there was that beautiful 80 yard touchdown pass off of play action.

Navy deserves their top 25 ranking. Now Navy has some tough football ahead: Navy hosts SMU (20 point favorite) then travels to Tulsa (potential trap game) before going to Houston on Thanksgiving Friday. December 12 is Army..but IF Navy beats SMU, Tulsa and Houston (a HUGE “if”), Navy would have the AAC championship game on the 5’th…possibly against a tough Temple team.

Navy either goes to a New Year’s Day bowl (a possibility) or plays in the Military Bowl on the 28’th at home.

Texas had no trouble with Kansas (59-20). Texas is at 4-5. But the finish is brutal: at West Virginia (7 point underdog), at home against Texas Tech and at Baylor. I honestly don’t see Texas winning 2 of the final 3.

My revised guesses for regular season records:

Illinois 5-7 or 6-6; the Minnesota game will make the difference.
Notre Dame: 10-2 or 11-1 is possible; Stanford will be tough at home.
Navy: 9-3 at the worst, 11-2 at best (including the AAC championship game).
Texas: sorry to say, but I think that Texas has won their final game of the season (4-8), though perhaps 5-7 is possible.

Football watching
Dang..the Rams fell 21-18 in overtime (to the Vikings).

But while my college football watching is winding down (one more Illinois game), my NFL watching is starting. I have tickets to:

Bears at Rams (next Sunday) As of now, I have a mini-crew going with me.πŸ™‚
Buccaneers at Colts (Thanksgiving Sunday)
Lions at Rams (13 December)
Texans at Colts (20 December)

I am also seriously considering the Cardinals at Rams on the 6’th of December.

November 8, 2015 - Posted by | college football | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

