blueollie

One issue where social conservatives have a valid point

Workout notes: not much. Easy 3 mile jog (down to Bradley Park to Markin) followed by a light weight session:
pull ups: 5 sets of 10, rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 7 x 170.
incline press: 10 x 135
military: 2 sets of 10 x 40 dumbbell, 10 x 200 machine
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine

That’s pretty much it. It wasn’t supposed to be much.

Issue: “transgender students” and female lockerroom/showers

I read the following:

CNN reported:

A Chicago-area school district violated anti-discrimination laws by denying a transgender student full access to the girl’s locker room, federal authorities said, the latest inquiry to side with students who feel discriminated against by school policies.
The finding against Township High School District 211 concerns only one of numerous complaints of discrimination made by transgender students.

“All students deserve the opportunity to participate equally in school programs and activities — this is a basic civil right,” Assistant U.S. Secretary for Civil Rights Catherine Lhamon said in a statement Monday.

John McCormack, with the The Weekly Standard said that the case out of Illinois is the latest controversy since the Obama administration’s Department of Justice and Department of Education have ruled that anatomically male teenagers who think they’re girls have the right to shower and change clothes in girls’ locker rooms.

So the battle lines are drawn, and the Social Justice Warriors are accusing people who question the appropriateness of allowing humans with X-Y chromosomes to use female locker rooms and showers of being bigots.

My thoughts: first of all, I don’t know what those facilities are like. I do know that the gyms that I now use have shower stalls; the ones I used to use (both at the University and at Central Pool) were of these types:

communalshower2

communalshower1

It is my guess that many (most?) women (those with X-X chromosomes) would not be comfortable showering with someone who had a penis. And yes, I said so on Facebook.

One person responded by trying to discuss “gender” (someone’s “gender” is, evidently determined by what they think that they are…not sure if this is supposed to be correlated with the biological sex). I know that “gender” means in grammar but am not sure what it means in this context.

But that misses my point entirely.

My point is this: why do we think it is a good idea to have separate locker rooms for males and for females? Why? Answering that question, I think, would be revealing.

IF the answer is what I think it is, then weather one believes that a human being with a penis can “be” a woman is irrelevant (or even what it means to “be” of the “female gender”).

I think that we have separate locker rooms and showers because people feel uncomfortable being around others of the “other SEX” in such a setting. How that other person “feels about themselves” is really irrelevant here.

Again, I am not making any statement on human psychology; I am not qualified to do that. I am not saying that our culture will never change.

But I am saying that as long as our society sees fit to have separate locker rooms and showers for “males and females” (I still think in terms of biology), then it is reasonable that some would have concerns about someone of the different sex being in the locker room with them and such concerns are not mere “bigotry”.

Now of course, I might be missing something about the whole concept of male/female locker rooms. But for now, I think that biological sex matters and I don’t fault people for being concerned.

One other point: someone asked me “so what about people who have had sex change surgery?” Here is my answer: if they appear to be of the same biological sex as others in the locker room, why would it matter?

And that further reinforced my point: I can see a valid objection in terms of the perceptions of the others in the locker room; in a sense the perception of the individual (the “transgender” person) really isn’t the issue here. That rules out the “sneaky male pervert” argument; after all, homosexuals exist and I don’t see any valid argument for excluding them.

Now note: I am talking about showers and not bathrooms (which contain stalls). This interesting post shows how awkward it could be: this person looks like a male to me:

bathroomselfie

And so, it is the appearance to others that matters.

November 6, 2015 - Posted by | politics, social/political

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

