blueollie

Knocking the cockiness out of me (NOT sports)

Workout notes: weights, then 4 mile run.

Weights: pull ups (3 sets of 10), rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185, 7 x 170 (stronger)
incline press: 10 x 135
pull ups: 2 sets of 10
military press: 3 sets of 10 x 200 seated, machine (100 each arm)
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 110 machine.

Run: treadmill (rainy and chilly outside): 5.3-5.4 (4 minutes), then up every 2 minutes until 40 (39:40 at 4 miles; 21:35 at 2).
Felt ok; intensity is something I am not used to.

Football I had predicted that Penn State would win 28-17 (spread was 4). It is 32-0 Penn State in the 4’th; I tried to warn people.

Title of the post

It is part of my job to go to college graduations. I’ve noticed that parents appear to be very, very proud of their kids who graduate. I’ve always kind of shrugged…and wondered what the big deal was.

Yes, my undergraduate years did have some heartache, misery and some “dark ages”; January-March was usually sort of gloomy and dark. And yes, I was a “square peg in a round hole”; I am simply not very “military” (though I deeply respect those who are good at it). And yes, I had the two major knee operations; these got me down, at least emotionally and caused me some physical pain. I did recover enough to run a 3:33 marathon and a 5:30 mile though.

But I “knew” that I’d muddle through; it was just a matter of doing “the next right thing”. Hence the graduation was, for me, sort-of a “given”. Even then I wondered why some were jumping up and down and acting like it was a big deal.

I ESPECIALLY thought that way when I got my Ph. D. in mathematics, though I got my nose bloodied by the initial set of comprehensive exams.

But now: well, I understand that many people have “hidden stories” and all sorts of inner demons that they had to overcome, and these demons are not always visible.

My challenges: at least as an undergraduate, they were mostly orthopedic. That was very visible, and I knew what I had to do and I had a good idea that they would eventually go away.

Others have challenges that have more uncertainty.

October 31, 2015 - Posted by | running, weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

