blueollie

Starting to turn around a bit?

Intellectually, well, I have two very intense courses to prepare for. Numerical analysis: the material is just tough as it is. Life contingencies: well, the stuff is new to me. Calculus 2: we are in the sequence/series section and I know this stuff pretty well.

I have more to say about academia later…let’s just say that a student e-mail got me to thinking about the message our universities (and society, in general) is sending to our students.

Yes, it is only one message. (and no, it was neither rude nor nasty)

Workout notes 10K run, 2 mile walk. But what a workout it was:

Run: 10K on the treadmill (0.5 incline) in 59:58. I started at 5.3 mph and upped the speed by 0.1 mph every 2 minutes until I got to 40 minutes. Note: I got to 3.5 miles in 35 minutes.

Then I lowered the speed to 6.0 mph (10 mpm pace) and upped it every 2 minutes again, until 53:30 or so, at which point I was a 5.5 miles. Then I upped it to 6.7 (8:57 pace) to 6 miles (58:10) then 6.8 the rest of the way.

Then 1 mile walking on the track (4 minutes for the first 1/4 mile; 14:21 for the mile).

Then back to the treadmill where I walked at a 15:xx pace (3.8 mph) and went from 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 on the incline (up 1 every minute); I was feeling it at 10 minutes. And no, I did not use the bars to hold on. Then back down to 2-3-4-5 and increased the speed to finish in 15:20.

I felt challenged but felt really good when I finished.

October 29, 2015 - Posted by | education, running, walking

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

