blueollie

About last week’s marathon

I admit that last week’s marathon caused me some sports anguish. I wondered “am I really that bad” and wondered if I could blame my slow time (5:49 for a walking marathon) on my cold or on training errors. Was I doing something wrong?

The best evidence: “probably not”; this probably accurately represents my current level, and that shouldn’t be a surprise. I’ve reached the age where the “sub 6 hour marathon walk” is no longer “automatic”.

Here is the evidence: I’ve listed my “100 percent walking, road and groomed trail” marathons and 50K events here and took the age graded score. Here is the data (age grade score is multiplied by 1000 for scaling purposes; note that a HIGHER age grade score means a lower time and a better performance)

marathonsand50Kagegradedata

And here is a plot of the data (x-axis is just the number of the event that I did)

marathonsand50kagegraded

Bottom line: not only did last week’s performance fit right in with what I’ve done in my lifetime, it is actually slightly better than my median performances, all of which I felt better about.

What are you going to do? In my case: seek out longer time limit races if I am going to “walk all of the way”. I have one on my radar screen: First Light in Alabama on January 10, 2016 (walking division, 7 hour time limit).

Now off to the gym for lifting and running.

October 24, 2015 - Posted by | marathons | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

