blueollie

Berea OH, day II

Workout notes
5 mile plus walk (1:15)

Screen shot 2015-10-11 at 3.06.38 PM

I saw several deer. It was a pretty course.

Then I went out with my daughter to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Yes, I’ve been there before but my daughter has not.

After dropping my daughter off, I caught the Baldwin Wallace JV game against Case Western; there was some drama as Case held on to win 16-14, with the winning margin coming from a 42 yard field goal.

This was college football at its purist; guys lost balls in the sun; kick return people ran into each other and knocked each other down..and the opposing quarterback wore a red “don’t hit me” jersey (and it did cost them a TD as he was called down when a pass rusher missed him and he hit an open receiver in the end zone).

I was close enough to the benches to hear the coaches and players talk and to see one young man rip off his jersey and shoulder pads in disgust (prior to the game ending) because he was angry about a lack of playing time. One other teammate just shook his head in disapproval.

Ah, the memories….

And the time with my daughter: I was reminded that when I think back to my undergraduate days…I do remember the good but often forget the negative emotions…loneliness, stresses, social pressures, etc.

Oh sure, I realize that other young people are serving in combat zones…I get that.

But college life isn’t all “happy go lucky-no cares in the world” days either, even if it is greatly preferable to other things.

October 11, 2015 - Posted by | college football, family, travel |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

