blueollie

Letting the air out of my balloon…

Today’s workout went fine: 1 mile of swimming (1800 yards) followed by weights.
Weights: rotator cuff, pull ups (5 sets of 10), incline presses: 10 x 135, 7 x 150, 10 x 140, military presses: 3 sets of 10 x 40, rows: 2 sets of 10 x 60 dumbbell, 10 x 110 machine. Yoga stretches.

Swim: 500 easy, 5 x 200 on the 4: 3:50, 3:48, 3:46, 3:42, 3:35, 300 of strokes.

Note: I didn’t use the fins today; both lower calf areas/Achilles are just a tiny bit sore. There is no “scrunching” but I don’t want to inflame the area, at all. I wonder if I did too much kicking with fins on Monday.

Weight room note: there was a young woman (very slender) doing unassisted pull ups. She was doing sets of 5-8, I think. That is good to see.

Deflation
Today, as usual, I swam next to a religion professor who is about 15 years younger than I am. He is very fit (3:15 marathon in September!) but today, I really was faster in the pool ..and by quite a bit.
But…I found out that he ran 15 miles at a good pace last night…I knew there was a reason for the increased speed disparity.🙂

But that got me to thinking about all of the times I’ve had my ego deflated…and not because someone else deliberately put me down or was mean to me.

I remember back in 2000 I was at a hotel. The elliptical trainers were on the back row and the treadmills were in front of those. I noticed there was a woman wearing headphones on one of the elliptical trainers when I got on the treadmill. As I got going I heard …

“Shake is BABY…nice butt!” said in a tone that one uses when one is wearing headphones and one doesn’t realize it is audible.

Well…I just cranked up the pace a little..increased the elevation and my pride started to swell….

Then I looked at the TV: there was a professional athlete on television. 😦

Oh well…

The increased intensity did me some good anyway.

October 9, 2015 - Posted by | swimming, weight training | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

