blueollie

College Football this weekend…

Navy at UConn, Navy favored by 6.5: tough game. UConn had a tough 9-6 loss at Missouri and two narrow wins: Army and Villanova. Navy: two blowout wins at home.
I am not sure about this one. On one hand, the Mids cranked it up against an East Carolina team that wasn’t that bad. But do they cover the spread against a team with a better defense? This is a tough call. I pick the Mids to win but the Huskies to cover. Note: I completely blew last week’s game where I picked East Carolina to win.

Massachusetts at Notre Dame: ND favored by 29. ND is a lot better but they just had an emotional game and a trip to Clemson looms. ND wins easily but probably not by 29; my guess is that they will play a lot of players and try things out. I pick the Minutemen cover. Last week: ND easily beat Georgia Tech as a home underdog; I called that.

Oklahoma State at Texas: OSU favored by 3. OSU beat mostly weak competition; UT has played much harder teams. I am picking the Longhorns to cover (as they did last week) and this time: win the game. I just don’t think that Oklahoma State has been tested. Last week: Texas didn’t get the upset that I predicted but they did cover the spread.

Middle Tennessee State at Illinois: Illini favored by 6.5. Middle Tennessee hit 70+ points in two of its games (FCS, and in a conference game (USA) and lost to Alabama 37-10. Illinois blew out a sleep deprived MAC team and an FCS team but got embarrassed at North Carolina. Nebraska awaits Illinois after this one. Note: both in score and in yardage, the Middle Tennessee vs. Alabama game was similar to the Wisconsin vs. Alabama game.

It is hard to tell; this might break like last year’s Western Kentucky game (42-34 Illinois) or like the Louisiana Tech games (disasters). Perhaps the Illini are desperate for a final home win, as the next three home opponents are Nebraska, Wisconsin and Ohio State. I don’t know what to think; perhaps 35-31 Illinois? Or the other way around? I’d take MTSU and the points but grudgingly pick Illinois to win.

How I did last week:

Straight up I was 2-2 (won the ND and Illinois games, lost the Texas and Navy games) and against the spread, I was 3-1 with the only loser being the Navy game.

So to be clear:
straight up: Navy, Notre Dame, Texas and Illinois. Against the spread: Connecticut, Massachusetts, Texas, Middle Tennessee.

September 24, 2015 - Posted by | college football |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

