blueollie

Learning to adapt to age, attitudes, etc.

Workout notes: untimed 4 mile Cornstalk classic run, then weights.

Run: untimed. The weather was beautiful; almost as if I ordered it. While in Bradley Park I saw two young women coming my way as I ran down the Dog Park hill. I moved way over (it is a wide road) and they smiled. Then as I turned to go up the hill to upper Bradley Park, I saw them ahead of me. I thought “OMG I am slow; they did 1 mile in the time it took me to do 400 meters? ” Then I realized they didn’t do the full lower loop; they are faster than I am but not THAT much faster.šŸ™‚

Then going along Parkside, I saw a fellow gray-hair that I’ve been running “against” since 1997 or so. We greeted each other, and, the difference between us is still about the same (he is maybe 1-2 minutes faster in the 5K…just as he was in 1997). We both have been reduced to “shuffling” during our runs. But we are still out there moving forward…at least I think that I am moving forward; not so sure of that at times.šŸ™‚

And yes, the traffic on Columbia Terrace and Parkside has gone up dramatically since the city made Main Street all but impossible to drive during morning rush hour. So that formerly “low traffic quiet neighborhood street” is no longer that. My guess is that the Uplands will no longer be a nice neighborhood in 10-15 years…if it takes that long.

Weights
pull ups: 10, 10, 10, 15, 5/5 (change grip) for 55 total. This was my first set of 15 in a long, long time. And these were decent reps…but I had to dig deep to get that set.
rotator cuff
bench press: 10 x 135, 4 x 185 (hips down!) 7 x 170
incline press: 10 x 135 (tough)
military: 3 sets of 10 x 40 dumbbell standing, 9 x 100 (each arm) machine, 1 x 70 to get 10 reps
rows: 3 sets of 10 x 60 dumbbell (each arm)
pull down: 2 sets of 10 x 160 traditional, 10 x 150 other machine
yoga (back, headstand)

Dealing with age
When it comes to running, I have to remember that 15 years ago, an “easy” 4 mile run was 32-36 minutes. Now it is 44-48; it takes me 1/3 longer to do the same distance. I have to factor that in when it comes to considering how long to go.

As far as my 5K times; they are now roughly what my 4 mile times used to be, and I remember thinking that the 4 mile was really more similar to a 10K than a 5K. So if I want to do well on the 5K, I will probably have to train the way I did for my old 10Ks.

And forget that nonsense about 5K being “95 percent VO2 max”. That is true for a trained athlete who will finish between 13-18 minutes, but not remotely true for me.

Effort Still, there is a time and place to “go for it”, though those times have to be more spread out. Today, I really wanted to see if I could do 15 pull ups in one set. And I could, but it did cost me; the next set was harder than normal. And I told myself “I have to WANT this”; I often don’t want to push myself.

Discipline I am going to a football game this Saturday and thought about doing a marathon on Sunday “as training”. That would be, well, dumb.
First of all, I know that once I pin a race number on and get with the crowd, I’ll go hard to try to keep contact. I am not rested and tapered either. So, the result would be: bad finish time, and exhaustion, 3 weeks prior to my “goal”.

10-15 years ago…well, I couldn’t really get away with it then either, but now the effect would be greater. I remember my days as a runner: I ran a hot weather 3:55 at Quad Cities 3 weeks prior to my goal at Chicago. At Chicago, I blew up at mile 20 and limped in at 3:46. Walking is easier on the body running, but that was 17 years ago. I recover more slowly now.

So, I’ll do a longish 5+ hour walk at a more relaxed pace; I KNOW that I can finish come race day. I’ve already hit 22 in training. I am aiming to walk that race HARD; aim for 5:30-5:40. And yes, that isn’t my old sub 5 hour (done once, in 2002) or even 5:15 (2009). If I think that my goal race will be easy because my finish time is likely to be slower than my old ones, I am kidding myself. It is still going to be tough, and I had better be ready mentally, emotionally and physically.

September 23, 2015 - Posted by | Peoria, Peoria/local, running, weight training | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

