blueollie

Channeling my inner Republican

I admit that on some emotional level, I am a bit conservative. Why? Well, consider this meme:

trumpsanderskids

I don’t think anyone is forcing poor people to have kids that they cannot afford…and several of them:

Among low-income, unwed parents, having children with more than one partner is now the norm. One long-running study found that in nearly 60 percent of the unwed couples who had a baby, at least one parent already had a child with another partner.

Multiple-partner fertility is a formula for unstable families, and it’s really bad for children, which Edin acknowledges in the book. But rather than view “serial dads” as simply irresponsible, Edin suggests that they suffer from unrequited “father thirst,” the desire for the intense experience of being a full-time dad. Consciously or not, they keep trying until they finally sort of get it right, usually with the youngest child, to whom they devote most of their resources at the expense of the older ones.

That is how it is with liberals, at least many of them. Individual responsibility is not encouraged, moral failures are excused and success is not celebrated.

And, in some cases, conservative places have invited people with different points of view to speak to them (e. g. Liberty University invited Senator Sanders). Contrast that with the shameful behavior by other schools in the name of political correctness.

Fortunately, this appears to be turning around a bit; even President Obama is speaking out.

And, well, there is what I call the “spread sheet” thing: supply side economics doesn’t work, whereas there is some evidence that demand side does.

And there is the science issue: sure some liberals have a knee jerk reaction against things like GMOs, but the likely Democratic nominee has spoken in favor of such technology.

Speaking of the likely nominee: yes, Hillary Clinton’s numbers have come down; that was inevitable; no one’s support can remain as high as hers. And she now has that visible record from being Secretary of State. She still enjoys a big lead. That doesn’t mean that she has it wrapped up, but she is the clear favorite.

September 16, 2015 - Posted by | economics, politics | ,

2 Comments »

  1. One of the 30 women I had relationships with in the 4 years after my former wife filed for divorce was the mother of three children from three different men. Non of them were involved in the lives of their children. I moved up to Augusta, ME to provide an apartment for them even though I was working here in Portland. Unfortunately she quit the job she had got after being laid off, and therefore lost her unemployment benefits. I did my best to provide financially, only taking enough from my pay to make the commute. She then failed to pay the rent and spent the money on her children. She then learned that I had suffered depression from my former wife, and decided to kick me out and affiliate with one of the former Dad’s.

    I was missing my own children and my former wife was letting my son dictate the schedule of when I could visit rather than visiting when I wanted. I was working retail and only got one in 3 weekends off. I cared for Susan’s children more than for her.

    Comment by William Higgins | September 17, 2015 | Reply

    • That sounds tough and unfortunate. I am sorry you were in that situation.

      I admit that in my hasty analysis, I didn’t account for mental and emotional illnesses, which are very real.

      Comment by blueollie | September 17, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

