blueollie

2015: my final Illinois Valley Striders Half Marathon ever….I say that every time. :-)

Ok, i’ll be blunt about the event: very hilly and much of the course is gravel/crumbly road. That makes for tough walking; I found that I need heavier shoes on this course. That can be hard on the shins if one is walking.
Every year, I say that I am going to get this right. And I never do. And I always vow “never again”. And I always return with a new plan…only to fail yet again.🙂

There are upsides: potluck lunch afterward (hamburgers and hot dogs provided), great traffic control and while the course is..well…I’d say “trail half marathon” difficult (albeit with better footing), it is pretty. There is no denying that. Just remind yourself how pretty it is when your legs are screaming at you.🙂

I didn’t keep track of splits (not exactly) though I did the first half in 1:18, second in 1:20:18. and time was 2:38:13. I was just under 2 hours at mile 10.

The day couldn’t have been any better for running/walking. Perfect weather.

I showed up and did 3 miles in lane 2 on the track (12 laps) in 40:06. Then I did the 13.1, then I got a diet Pepsi (nice and cold), walked to the track and did 2 more miles (31:30) and that gave me 18 miles for the day.
I looked at my past records and while I have walked faster, I’ve also been slower….in 2011 no less.

I was far back enough to where I didn’t have many to chase, though I did have a fun “back and forth” with T. She got away from me and beat me by about 0.1 miles or so. Yes, I could tease about her spandex but I really did want to catch her for performance/athletic reasons and wasn’t able to. I never did catch that older man who was jogging, though he finished right when I entered the “hair pin” turn part in lower Glenn Oak park.

What I learned: I wasn’t organized when it came to taking the salt tablet. I need to anticipate the aid stations.
I am not fast, at all. BUT, I did have enough left to finish two more miles on the track, albeit at a slow pace. I am going to have to take it out very easily in the marathon.

I am also going to have to do some “marathon pace” work during my 8-10 mile Tuesday walk; that means 12:30-12:45 type miles. My shins are sore and that usually means weak shins.

2011 2:40:53 (1:19:45/1:21:20) (slightly warmer)
2012 2:24:46 (1:10:21/1:14:25)
2013 2:29:51 run attempt (hot) (1:08/1:22)
2014 2:34:59 (1:18/1:16)
2015: 2:38:13 (1:18/1:20:13)

Update: I looked at last year’s race; I was only 3:19 faster last year and I was within 20-30 seconds of last year at mile 10. I lost 2:40 of the difference in the final 3.1 miles. And last year I had a 2 mile warm up at 14:30 mpm; this year I had a 3 mile warm up at 13:20 mpm. It wasn’t all bad.

September 13, 2015 - Posted by | walking | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

