blueollie

Body types, meaningless awards, etc.

Today: weights only. Last week, which would have been an average training week a decade ago, left me feeling a bit dead.

rotator cuff
pull ups: 4 sets of 10 prior to the bench press, 1 after (strong)
bench press: 10 x 135, 3 x 185, 3 x 185, 7 x 170 (all strong; didn’t try for extra reps due to no spotter; I did have safety catches on the bench though)
incline press: 10 x 135
military (dumbbell), pull downs (usual machine), rows (dumbbell, single arm) super set: 3 sets of 10 each exercise
military: 45, 40, 50
rows: 60
pull down: 160

I did a little yoga, and I can still do a head stand..though it wasn’t as easy for me as it usually is when I practice it.

The gym was mostly empty save some large, well built guy using the pulleys. But then came one of the usual young woman, clad in her usual very tight spandex…and to my horror she went up to me to say “hi”. It turns out that she was the young woman who waved to me yesterday when I was out on the trail near the Riverplex. I thought that she was someone who had seen me at a race somewhere.

She told me that her 8 mile run tired her out so I don’t feel so bad about feeling a bit whipped after my training walk (which did go well…but it wasn’t easy).

I think that I’ll move away from the long stuff after this marathon (October, possibly 30 miler in November). The training is too draining, and it is killing what little speed that I have.

Body types I watched a couple of soccer players do a grueling workout (hard mile, hard 2 mile, 6 minute pace) and these well built guys were suffering. Then I saw a couple of our distance runners come running past at the same pace, making it look easy. Of course, these runners were very, very slender. Body type makes a huge difference!

And I think that it makes a bigger difference when one gets older; it is harder to use extra training to compensate for natural weaknesses.

And there is something interesting: if I compare myself to someone my own age: the difference between me and others my age is probably larger than it has ever been. On the other hand the difference between me and those my age who are actually good at sports has also gotten larger. It is as if the variation between people (with regards to sports performance) gets larger with age.

Participation awards I’ve always thought that participation awards were kind of silly (even for marathons) and I am glad to see a professional athlete agree. Yes, these are probably ok for t-ball, but there comes a time when they should be phased out. Not everyone agrees though.

August 17, 2015 - Posted by | weight training | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

